Nothing more was made of this game until it was time to award the prize money. If Orgil had won, he would have shared first and second place money with a 4.5/5 score or a split of $800. If he draws then he shares 2nd-3rd with 2 other players and Ron wins nothing. If Ron draws then he shares 2nd-3rd with 2 other players. Once Orgil realized his game was recorded as a loss he protested and it lasted for over 30 minutes at which time I had to leave the playing hall for another obligation. I, of course, have nothing to do with the ruling or the outcome, nor was I needed for any consultation in what transpired. Later, I learned Orgil continued his protest and even took it out into the parking lot. He also made claim, while I was there, that how did the TD know whether or not he intentionally or accidently knocked over his King. From what I witnessed, it was not accidental. His intent may have been something other than resignation but he said nothing and it appears he did not record the score with the TD as is required. (see USCF rule: 15H "When a game is completed, the result must be immediately reported in the manner required by the director. Both players, not just the winner, are responsible for registering the result.") Since Orgil did not make a fuss until it was time to make the rewards, I must assume he did not record the result. Though he may have and the result was reversed based on his action of knocking over the King and that appeared to be very intentional. Thus, see USCF rule: 13B "The player whose opponent resigns wins the game. This immediately ends the game. Saying "I resign" or tipping over the King are relatively clear ways to resign."
While I feel for Orgil and given the position on the board it clearly looks as if Ron would continue to check as he has no winning chances, knocking over the King and walking away can only be interpreted as a resignation. Ron, for instance, did not have to continue to check even though that appears to be his best course of action. Orgil made an assumption without making clear he was agreeing to a draw and he further complicated the matter by knocking over his King which is a sign of resignation, not one of agreeing to a draw. Note, Ron had not repeated the position 3 times at the time Orgil walked away and tipped over his King. So, while I viewed it as disgust on Orgil part, further reflection tells me all his actions are those of resignation. Ron may not have continued to perpetually check, we can only guess he would have just as I guessed Orgil would have checked with his Rook on the 7th which lead to mate as I saw it, but instead he touched his Queen and then saw he could not safely check with the Queen and thus moved it to a square allowing the possibility of perpetual check. He made a mistake and thus Ron, too, could have made a mistake. Initially I thought Ron should have agreed it was a draw, but Orgil's lack of understanding the rules, his bad sportsmanship (not for his protest after, but rather his tipping the King and walking away without agreeing to the draw) and for not completing the game in essence all support the TD's decision, not that my opinion matters here. Rather, I write this blog to remind us all that not only is chess competitive, it can be highly emotional and can get the best of us at times. It is best we understand the rules, remain civil and learn from our mistake lest we repeat them again and again.